This is my old car

Posted: August 8, 2013 in Poetry

This is my old car
the one with rust and dust,
a broken indicator light,
it smells of dog and must.

This is my old car
the boot is broken,
I have to balance it on my head,
but if I was homeless – this car could be my bed.

This is my old car
it used to be very nice
now the windscreen heater,
it doesn’t warm the ice.

This is my old car
it leaves a little to desire
but if I really needed to get away
it never fails to fire.

This is my old car
it used to have a 6 cd changer
but it no longer works,
instead it has more than 6, little, quirks.

This is my old car
sometimes it doesn’t lock,
the electric window is bust.
It screams no frills and no fuss.

This is my old car
she’s travelled many miles
she carries a few scars
but through the pain she smiles.

This is my old car
it’s worn out and spent
used and bruised with dent.
This is my old car.

Comments
  1. […] wrote a poem about my car once, a trusty old Golf. She served and served and although she came with some quirks […]

Leave a Reply

